Basys 2 VGA generation - where to store image for rendering

Josef

Question

Hello everyone,

I am a little newbie to generating VGA from any development kit, today I made a simple VGA image generation working on Basys 2 board with Spartan 3E-100. In code I'm currently using construction with IF sections for setting pixel colors at the required coordinates, but I think that this is not the best practise, because images is in this case programmed like in a ROM... So I would like to ask what is the best practise for storing images in Spartan 3E-100 next intended for displaying by VGA? I would prefer to have one component driving displaying to VGA from something like a buffer what can be modified outside of VGA component by pixels. My first idea was design own video RAM to FPGA in VHDL, but idea has failed after I waited for synthesis like a 20 minutes and nothing happened then I read some forum questions on RAM on FPGA and CPLD and I guess that 300 kB RAM (640x480 pixels represented by 1 byte per pixel) I am not able to achieve on Spartan 3E-100, am I correct? The next idea was use some external SRAM like AS6C4008 from Alliance Memory, but problem I think is on access time, because pixel clock 25 MHz is 40 ns and AS6C4008 access time is 55 ns, so I think that this is not a solution either. Last idea I have use on-chip RAM memory on FPGA, but currently I don't know whether is this idea correct and also how is correct way to use on-chip RAM on Spartan 3E and where I say to ISE that on-chip RAM I'm going to use in my design. Can anyone tell me whether my last idea can be realized or is also out of bounds and what is the best way to doing something like a video RAM or video array for VGA? Thank anyone in advance for reply. Best regards, Josef

7 answers to this question

Hi,

the 3E-100 has 72 kBits of block RAM so using it for graphics memory won't work directly. What you could do is reduce the resolution to prove the concept.