Analog Discovery 2 as Software Defined Radio?

fusionimage

Question

Hi!

Since I've been doing a lot of stuff with SDR for the past 2 years, I was wondering, if it is possible to use the AD2 with any SDR software. The Waveforms SDK only allows to record float values to a file, if I understood correctly, so I would have to save them and convert them before usage. It would be nice though, to make a FIFO pipe to some other software like gnuradio, gqrx or SDR#. Thanks to the 14 bit ADC/DAC it would be a very useful SDR device.

Does anybody of you have an idea, of how to implement this? Since we can use the AD2 to play audio, the easiest way would be to create a virtual sound card, piping the whole spectrum (Waveforms does it in spectrum view, but without demodulation possibilities), because those can be used in any SDR software.

Thanks in advance!

@clf,

I like your IQ for dummies link!  It has good pictures and does a decent job trying to explain what's going on.  And to think ... I needed to learn all of that through hand-waving and experimentation.  The pictures are better.

The hackaday one ... not so much.  The premesis that I and Q are a nemesis wasn't well supported by the article.  Still ... the picture is well worth understanding.

I also like the descriptions because they don't try to create any Hilbert transforms.  A Hilbert transform is a theoretical mathematical device designed to give you I and Q from a real-valued receiver.  I say theoretical, because it depends upon a filter that cannot be realized (it's non-causal, and non-finite).  The approach described and pictured in the hackaday article, that of using a balanced downconverter to regenerate both, is better (in my humble opinion) because 1) I can understand all the operators within, and 2) the lowpass filter design required maps to a readily solvable problem.

Dan