Analog Discovery 2 as Software Defined Radio?

Question

Hi!

Since I've been doing a lot of stuff with SDR for the past 2 years, I was wondering, if it is possible to use the AD2 with any SDR software. The Waveforms SDK only allows to record float values to a file, if I understood correctly, so I would have to save them and convert them before usage. It would be nice though, to make a FIFO pipe to some other software like gnuradio, gqrx or SDR#. Thanks to the 14 bit ADC/DAC it would be a very useful SDR device.

Does anybody of you have an idea, of how to implement this? Since we can use the AD2 to play audio, the easiest way would be to create a virtual sound card, piping the whole spectrum (Waveforms does it in spectrum view, but without demodulation possibilities), because those can be used in any SDR software.

Thanks in advance!

How to install (I'm using Ubuntsu and GRC 3.7.11 with WX GUI.)

at "gr-AD2_AnalogXx_Xxxxxx" directory

$ mkdir build ↵
$ cd build ↵
$ cmake ../ ↵
$ make ↵
$ sudo make install ↵

wxgui_.... blocks are not mine, installed with GRC 3.7.11.

Before using my blocks, you should be install Waveforms and dwf (from pip)

Hello,

The recording to file is just an example script.

The WaveForms SDK provides functions to control, send and receive samples... You can do whatever you need with received samples, you can process it as you need for your task. The functions allow to generate custom periodic arbitrary waveforms or stream/play samples too.

@fusionimage,