Diving in

That_Guy

Hello all,

I am studying computer engineering, but I have a strong leaning towards the hardware side. I have played around with FPGAs a little in community college, and I'm diving into a more in depth course now.

Great timing too, as I am planning to use an FPGA for a (very simple) software defined radio.

For any other new users scrolling through here, my analog discovery 2 has been an invaluable tool as a portable starter scope. I'm sure I'll accumulate more gear in the future, but for now it's more than capable for what I need.

Hi,

a little bit of warning: "Genuine" SDR on FPGA is a difficulty level far beyond "enthusiast" range. When FPGA implementation comes in, you should have a clear understanding of the algorithm side. It's the wrong technology to learn SDR. Until then, use Matlab / Octave / Scilab / Python / whatever to prototype ideas.

Even if I run out of CPU horsepower and start writing optimized C code / throw in SSE intrinsics / convert to GPU-code / use grid computing / ..., it is still much more straightforward to work with than FPGA. One simple reason is that I can just write everything out in 32 bit floats, no need to touch fixed point math. Or take the slow compile cycle and lack of accessibility for internal signals. Those are actually the very same reasons why I've grown so fond of Octave over the years.

Yup!

I fully recognize that SDR is quite a deep topic, and the emphasis for this project is "very simple" lol. The FPGA will be primarily an interface between the ADC and computer, we are only receiving signals (other team is transmitting) and we are keeping it under ~5Mhz carrier which should eliminate the need for a mixer or some of the tricky analog front end. It's a very basic introduction to SDR, but more than enough to keep me busy for a bit. Matlab has been a wonderful resource for figuring things out in the earlier stages, and I'm sure it'll continue to help as my team figures out what we're doing wrong.