Pmod CAN board and Zedboard in SImulink environment

Cosimo

Question

Hi to everyone,

I'm new in the use of FPGA. At the moment my task is to inteface a Zedboard with Simulink and use it to generate a PWM output. Until this point everything is ok, but now, I'd like to connect a PmodCAN board (https://store.digilentinc.com/pmod-can-can-2-0b-controller-with-integrated-transceiver/ ), in order to read data from CAN bus and send to the FPGA board. The problem is that i don't know how to inteface the PmodCAN board with the FPGA Zedboard inside Simulink environment. I know that the connection need to be done through SPI protocol, but i don't have experience at all in this kind of configurations. Could someone help me in this ? Could I create a Simulink system that allows me to communicate with the two boards through SPI protocol ?

many thanks 

Cosimo

4 answers to this question

14 hours ago, jpeyron said:

Hi @Cosimo,

We do not have matlab or experience using matlab's simulink. I would suggest to reach out to mathworks support about using their software. If you were wanting to use vivado/sdk we have an IP Core for the Pmod CAN here. Here is a tutorial on using our IP's.

cheers,

Jon

Hi Jon, 

thanks for your prompt answer, i have already contacted Mathworks, they replied to me that there is no support for SPI protocol and i should develop it. Unfortunately, I'm not a software engineer so I don't know where to start in doing that. For me would be useful to get a Simulink block with SPI protocol, after that, i should be able to comunicate with the Pmod CAN

Cheers

Cosimo

Hi @Cosimo,