Sign in to follow this  
csp

Digital Discovery Board SDK Channel Numbers

Question

Hi

I am new to the DD, and I thought this might be a good device to obtain readouts at high speed from my photon counter that outputs a 3.3v pulse every single time it receives a photon. The maximum speed it can go is at about 25ns per output. So I looked through some of the examples in the SDK (so I can automate the process, without having to save the data file each time and process it later).

1) It is not clear to me how I can extract the data from each channel using the SDK, or rather how I can specify which channel to log the data

2) I am wondering what is the maximum throughput, in the case I want to obtain data from multiple photon counters (e.g. 8 channels at 100MHz)

3) Also, if I implement a script to do a mathematical routine which will compress the amount of data (e.g. number of pulses over a period of time, or mean and std of pulses over a given time) is the script implemented on board or after it arrives in the cpu (post processed)?

4) Would I be able to get the time (or ticks) the pulse is received so that the data load is greatly reduced (since I do not necessarily need the 0s in the pulse stream).

Thanks.

1 answer to this question

Hi @csp

1. See the following example:
C:/Program Files (x86)/Digilent/WaveFormsSDK/samples/py/ DigitalIn_Acquisition.py

With the FDwfDigitalInSampleFormatSet you specify how many bits (DIOs or DINs) you want for each sample 8, 16 or 32
Use the FDwfDigitalInStatusData the get an array (like rgData[1000]) of samples as 8, 16 or 32 bit values.
The samples are bit fields of DIOs and/or DINs. The least significant bit is DIN0, the seconds DIN1...
DIN0 = (rgData>>0)&1
DIN1 = (rgData>>1)&1
DIN2 = (rgData>>2)&1

2. With Digital Discovery you can capture 32 lines at up to 200MHz, or 16 lines at up to 400MHz, or 8 lines at up to 800MHz