Hi, just created a tutorial for Arty

graham chow

Hi graham,

Very cool! Thank you for taking the time to post your project on our forum! We have a few projects of our own on the Arty board (as you likely saw in our Wiki), but I don't think we have any video tutorials for the Arty board yet.

I do have a question though; it looked like you were using Vivado on Windows 10. As of this point in time, I don't Xilinx offers official support for Windows 10, so I'm curious if there's anything you had to do in particular to get Vivado working on Windows 10 with licensing and whatnot.

Thanks,
JColvin

Worked fine for me on Windows 10 [Version 10.0.10586] (type ver in the command line - you might have 10.0.10240) - I just went through the process and it worked fine for me. There are different versions of Windows 10 out there, and being a coder I do know they behave differently - a bit painful. 

I went through your 3 tutorials, they are great.

• 2 weeks later...

Hi Graham,

thank you for this terrific piece of information. Worked super for me - even though I did not know nothing about Vivado and Verilog. Maybe for a very newbie - like me - it is good to know that the Arty board needs a board_file in Vivado/2015.y/data/boards that has to be copied from Digilent (https://reference.digilentinc.com/doku.php?id=arty) Design Resources / Vivado Board Files – Wiki prior to following your nice presentation.

Nice project! Thank you for sharing it with us!

JColvin, about windows10, even if it's not yet official from Xilinx, Vivado 2015.4 does work on W10. I tested it on some projects with Basys3 and it worked flawless. You don't need extra configuration for it, just the classical installation. 

• 2 weeks later...

I am new to vivado, I installed 2015.4 last night and I have the vivado working but windows 10 tells me that SDK app will not run on my computer.

Any helpful words of advice?

I did the change to MSVS redist 2012 version 4 to get the vivado to work

Andy