xadc and fft output in vivado through ILA core

farhanazneen

Question

hello,

iam trying to  capture the xadc output in vivado through  ILA logic analyzer core  and then wanted to send that output to the input of fft please do let me know how to capture the xadc signals in the ILA core 

The below is my design in vivado please do let me know im very new to vivado 

fft.rar

5 answers to this question

Why use ILA?  Why not start instead with a proper simulator?  I'm personally rather partial to Verilator, although I know others who use iverilog (for Verilog simulation), or ghdl (for VHDL simulation).  Vivado also has a simulation tool internal to it.  I'd recommend creating a simulated A/D input, running your entire design through the simulator, and then making sure you have the right outputs from the simulator before moving to the next step.  Incidentally, you'll need an open source A/D simulator.  You can find an example of one in this project.  You may also need an open source FFT.  You can find an open source pipelined FFT generator in this project.  It's even got a recent addition of a window function processor at the front end.

Dan

thanks @D@n sir for your response i have one doubt cant i directly view xadc and fft  signals in ILA core and after debugging exporting the data to the matlab. IS it mandatory to simulate in vivado simulator cant i view signals directly in ILA CORE? and export it to matlab. Please  do let me know sir.

@farhanazneen,

Is it possible to do (fill in the blank)?  Read here.

Do you have to simulate?  Good question.  It was recently debated on reddit, see the link here.

My own answer is that, No, you don't need to simulate your design, but from my own experience I tend to go about 10x faster through the design process if I do.  (and another 10x faster through the process if I can formally verify my design ...)