writing data(from UART0) to DDR memory and reading the processed data(to UART1) from DDR

Sridhar Prasath Aruppukottai Ganesan

Question

Greetings all,

I am new to zedboard. This might be a basic question. 

1. I want to send some data via UART0 to DDR memory through direct memory access AXI. (GPS data)
  2. Again I want to collect another set of data from UART1 and writing it to DDR memory.(GSM/LTE module)

Now if interrupt from one UART( UART1) occurs, I want the processed data of UART0 which is on the DDR memory to be read via UART1(GSM module) and send to a remote server.

Any suggestions and advice on how can i design the hardware?

8 answers to this question

Dear @jpeyron Thank you so much for your response. I would really need your help.

1. I am using GTPA010 Gps module and I am going to connect on pmod connectors(Tx pins and Rx pins on JA2 and JA4 and ground seperately). The Gps module has external power supply. So  think it wont need vcc.

2. For GSM module, the connection is almost same as GPS module(Any other pmod connector among JB,JC,JD and maybe JE on the PS side).

3. One of the tasks is to collect the GPS data and store it in the internal memory of zedboard. I have to collect the GSM data(cellId , base stations etc) as well.

4. Whenever requested , the gps data on the internal memory should be sent to a remote server via GSM.

I donno how to start with hardware design. I m planning to use UART0 and UART1 for both these pmod connections. Please help me with this hardware design

Hi @Sridhar Prasath Aruppukottai Ganesan,

UART0 and UART1 are tied to the ps. If you are needing to connect these two modules to pmod ports through uart communication the i would use the axi uartlite or axi uart 16550. I would not use JE since this is tied directly to the ps and would be more difficult to get working.  Is this project going to be baremetal through vivado/sdk or are you going to use embedded linux such as petalinux?

thank you,

Jon