connecting IP blocks for PL side - project includes GPS module, GSM module,Memory, Debug TAP controller

Sridhar Prasath Aruppukottai Ganesan

Question

I am relatively new to Zedboard and Vivado. I am currently doing the hardware design

for this project in Xilinx Vivado. I have to use GPS module, GSM module, internal memory, TAP debug controller in this project. Also I need to use 

Ethernet for sending the data to server.

I have some assumptions regarding the design that i will list below. Please provide me with knowledge if I am wrong.

1. For GPS and GSM modules, We can use any 2 of the PMOD connectors(JA,JB,JC,JD) on the PL side. (RS232 protocol).

2. For internal memory, We can use the memory on the PS side itself.

3. For Ethernet also, we can use from PS.

So while making Hardware block design for this project, what IP blocks can I use for each of these .So following are my doubts.

1. Can I use AXI-Quad SPI IP block for PMOD connections(for GPS and GSM modules)?? I found default IPs for I2C and SPI connections but not for RS232 connection.

So what IP block should i use for GSM and GPS modules?

2. can i use AXI-central direct memory access block for accessing internal memory?

3. And what IP block should i use for debug port TAP controller?? or is it on the PS side so that it dont require seperate IP connection? And what is its purpose?

4. And for ethernet connection also, do i need to use seperate IP or can i use the one which is already on the Zync PS side.

5 answers to this question

Hi,

I am wondering what is the justification for adding FPGA to your project. All tasks can be accomplished using SBC with ARM processors. Adding FPGA into the project will double your effort since you'll need to program and debug PL which is time consuming. 

Well, since you are commited to this project I'll give you my recommendations.