unable to connect to hw_server

mmmtgo

Question

this is my first attempt to program an FPGA (I use Basys 3), and when I tried to connect to the hw_server after generating the bitstream , I got this error: 

ERROR: [Labtools 27-2223] Unable to connect to hw_server with URL "TCP:localhost:3121".
Resolution: 1. Check the host name, port number and network connectivity.
2. Check to ensure the hw_server is running on the target.

23 answers to this question

@JColvin I am not sure if this is a valid check but if I try to run the hw_server.exe manually from Vivado\2020.1\bin\unwrapped\win64.o I get the following output:

D:\Xilinx\Vivado\2020.1\bin\unwrapped\win64.o>hw_server.exe

****** Xilinx hw_server v2020.1
  **** Build date : May 27 2020 at 20:24:38
    ** Copyright 1986-2020 Xilinx, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

INFO: hw_server application started
INFO: Use Ctrl-C to exit hw_server application

Cannot create listening port: Socket bind error. An attempt was made to access a socket in a way forbidden by its access permissions

This really now sounds like a Windows permissions issue of some sort. Perhaps with using a well known IANA port like the default of 3121.

So I tried to manually re-run the hw_server using: hw_server.exe -s tcp::50000 I get the following.

D:\Xilinx\Vivado\2020.1\bin\unwrapped\win64.o>hw_server.exe -s tcp::50000

INFO: To connect to this hw_server instance use url: TCP:markse-PC:50000

Warning: Cannot create '3000:arm' GDB server: An attempt was made to access a socket in a way forbidden by its access permissions
Warning: Cannot create '3001:arm64' GDB server: An attempt was made to access a socket in a way forbidden by its access permissions
Warning: Cannot create '3002:microblaze' GDB server: An attempt was made to access a socket in a way forbidden by its access permissions
Warning: Cannot create '3003:microblaze64' GDB server: An attempt was made to access a socket in a way forbidden by its access permissions