Problems using RPB14 as input to Timer5 on chipKit DP32

lasersam

Question

Hi:

I have been using a chipKit DP32 board under MPIDE for several months now using RPB9 for Timer5 input for an external clock.  It works great. but RPB9 conflicts with pins needed for an I2C interface to some sensors.  I have attempted to move Timer5 to RPB14 by changing

T5CKR = 0b0100;

to

T5CKR = 0b0001;

And no matter what I do, something inside the DP32 insists on driving that pin as an output to low.

I've removed just about all the code except for those setup instructions with no change in behavior.

RPB14 goes open or high when the RESET button is pressed, but both when the uploader is running and when code starts, reverts to low.  This has both been verified with a logic probe and originally because it was pulling down the input signal.

I have confirmed that other combinations work.  For example, selecting RPB0 (which is also LED4) appears to have the expected result (though that hasn't entirely been confirmed).   But I'd rather not sacrifice the use of LED4, and would like to understand what's going on, or report a bug here if that's what it is. :).

FWIW, I have been told that the identical code works properly under UECIDE, but UECIDE doesn't like me and attempting to get it to work under Win 7 and compile the same code without errors has so far been elusive.

Any info appreciated.

Thanks,

--- sam

10 answers to this question

A couple things come to mind.

Is anything else using that pin for something? Check the RPB14R register to make sure it's set to 0000. Otherwise a peripheral might be driving it.

The other question is whether you have the CVREF module turned on. If so, that function takes higher priority than the PPS functions (which is why it is first on the list of pins).

Thanks for replying so quickly. :)