Just how much of the HDL do you need to know?

hamster

Question

I realize I only know a tiny corner of all of VHDL.

I know little about creating packages, libraries, other data types outside of 'std_logic' and 'signed', 'unsigned', 'integer' and 'natural', things like "a <= b after 10 ns;", string handling, file handling, structures, text I/O ..... the list goes on and on.

Just how much of VHDL do you need to work with FPGAs? My guess is about 20% 

And once you get that far, is it worth learning more?

And is Verilog the same?

And does anybody have any recommended resources on more advanced VHDL?

1 answer to this question

Hey Hamster,

Those are great questions.  I am far from an expert but probably have enough experience to chime in.

I realize I only know a tiny corner of all of VHDL.

I know little about creating packages, libraries, other data types outside of 'std_logic' and 'signed', 'unsigned', 'integer' and 'natural', things like "a <= b after 10 ns;", string handling, file handling, structures, text I/O ..... the list goes on and on.

Just how much of VHDL do you need to work with FPGAs? My guess is about 20% 

Assessing how much HDL a person needs to know before they can work with FPGAs is a hard topic.  A class at WSU has students start at AND gates and finish at a stopwatch and a VGA controller.  So they have enough HDL and digital logic to be able to accomplish some pretty cool designs.

With a small amount of HDL knowledge, some real applications can be created.  This leads me to think that the HDL is a fairly minimal skill compared to the amount of knowledge that goes into designing the and debugging the hardware.  Knowing generics in VHDL doesn't help much if you don't know what a mux is (assuming most designs have a mux and a bit of an exaggerated example)