Advice on controlling stepper motors

Jmac68

Question

I am building a robot that will incorporate approx. 10 stepper motors. I will also be controlling two mass flow controllers. I was advised that the ChipKit Max32 would work for me. I wanted to confirm this. I was previously considering using a Arduino Mega but was told that the processing power is insufficient. Question #1: Does this board output PWM 0-5v? With the Mega I was going to put a low pass filter on one of the outputs to control my mass flow controllers, which can be controlled with analogue 0-5v. Next question: If I do use this board do I need to use a unique stepper controller with each stepper motor? And if so what model/type of stepper controller would be most suitable? I'm using Nema 17 Bipolar steppers. Also, some of the stepper motors will be running simultaneously during the sequence. Also any suggestions on writing code would be appreciated. Thank you very much for any help with this. I am very new to all of this and there's a lot to learn!

1 answer to this question

Hi Jmac68,

The chipKIT Max32 does not output PWM from 0-5V. All of it's pins including the analog pins operate from 0 to 3.3V. Most of the pins are 5V tolerant, but are not actually able to supply 5V.